Historical Preservation Commission


  • Meetings are held quarterly beginning at 2:00p.m. on the
    second Tuesday of January, April, July, and October
  • Parks and Recreation Center’s Meeting Room
    900 E. Fairhaven Avenue
    Burlington, WA 98233


The historic preservation commission consists of nine members and include representatives of the Burlington Parks Board, Burlington Parks Foundation, Burlington City Council, Skagit Valley Genealogical Society, Skagit County Historical Society, two historic resource professionals and two at-large citizens of Burlington. All members shall be appointed by the mayor with the approval of city council for a term of three years, with the exception of the Burlington city council representative, which will change annually. The Parks and Recreation Department director shall serve as an ex officio, non-voting member.

  • Janet Berger, At-large Representative
  • Larry Gilbert, At-large Reperesentative
  • Muriel Neely, Skagit County Historical Museum
  • Sara Patton, Historic Resource Professional
  • Margie Wilson, Historic Resource Professional
  • Joe DeGloria, Council Representative
  • Chris Loving, Council Rep Alternate
  • Greg Young, City Administrator
  • Sarah Ward, Interim Recreation Director
  • VACANT, Skagit Valley Genealogy Representative
  • VACANT, Burlington Parks Board
  • VACANT, Burlington Parks Foundation

The Historical Preservation Commission was established in 2010.